Prof. Sami Haddadin

Tel.: +49 (89) 289 - 29403
Raum: 2410.01.101

 

Short-CV

Prof. Sami Haddadin is Director of the Munich School of Robotics and Machine Intelligence at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) and holds the Chair of Robotics and System Intelligence. His research interests include intelligent robot design, robot learning, collective intelligence, human-robot interaction, nonlinear control, real-time planning, optimal control, human neuromechanics and prosthetics, and robot safety.

Prof. Haddadin was Chair of the Institute of Automatic Control at Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover from 2014 to 2018. Prior to that, he held various positions as a researcher at DLR. He holds degrees in electrical engineering, computer science and technology management from the Technical University of Munich and the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. He received his PhD summa cum laude from RWTH Aachen University. He has published more than 130 scientific articles in international journals and conferences. He has received numerous awards for his scientific work, including the George Giralt PhD Award (2012), the RSS Early Career Spotlight (2015) and IEEE/RAS Early Career Award (2015), the Alfried Krupp Award for Young Professors (2015), the German Future Prize of the Federal President (2017) and the Leibniz Prize (2019).

Prof. Haddadin is the founder of Franka Emika GmbH (Munich, 2016). During his time as at DLR, he played a major role in the development of the lightweight robot technology, which became the KUKA LBR iiwa in technology transfer.

 

 
For reasons of transparency, I would like to draw your attention to my investment in Franka Emika GmbH and the Conflict of Interest that may exist as a result. I have prescribed for myself a clear and transparent procedure in dealing with this participation, worked out a clear workflow with the TUM on funding projects and would ask you to respect this fact even in the event of any enquiries. I would ask you to address any intended contact requests and cooperation requests with Franka Emika GmbH directly to the company.

Prof. Sami Haddadin

Tel.: +49 (89) 289 - 29403
Raum: 2410.01.101

 

Kurz-CV

Prof. Sami Haddadin ist Direktor der Munich School of Robotics and Machine Intelligence an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Robotik und Systemintelligenz. Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen intelligentes Roboterdesign, Roboterlernen, kollektive Intelligenz, Mensch-Roboter-Interaktion, nichtlineare Regelung, Echtzeitplanung, Optimalsteuerung, menschliche Neuromechanik und Prothetik sowie Robotersicherheit.

Vor seinem Wechsel an die TUM und Rufen an die Stanford University und das MIT in den USA war Prof. Haddadin von 2014 bis 2018 Lehrstuhlinhaber des Instituts für Regelungstechnik an der Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover. Davor war er in unterschiedlichen Funktionen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am DLR tätig. Er hält Abschlüsse in Elektrotechnik, Informatik und Technologiemanagement der Technischen Universität München sowie der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Er promovierte mit summa cum laude an der RWTH Aachen. Er hat mehr als 200 wissenschaftliche Artikel in internationalen Journalen und Konferenzen veröffentlicht. Für seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten wurde er mit zahlreichen Auszeichnungen, wie dem George Giralt PhD Award (2012), dem RSS Early Career Spotlight (2015) und IEEE/RAS Early Career Award (2015), dem Alfried-Krupp-Förderpreis für junge Hochschullehrer (2015), dem Deutschen Zukunftspreis des Bundespräsidenten (2017) sowie dem Leibnizpreis (2019) geehrt.

Prof. Haddadin ist Gründer der Franka Emika GmbH (München, 2016). In seiner Zeit als DLR-Mitarbeiter wirkte er maßgeblich an der Entwicklung der Leichtbaurobotertechnologie mit, die im Technologietransfer zum KUKA LBR iiwa wurde.

 
Aus Gründen der Transparenz weise ich auf meine Beteiligung an der Franka Emika GmbH und den damit u.U. bestehenden Conflict of Interest hin. Ich habe mir ein klares und transparentes Vorgehen im Umgang mit dieser Beteiligung verordnet, einen klaren Workflow mit der TUM zu Förderprojekten erarbeitet und bitte diese Tatsache auch bei etwaigen Anfragen zu respektieren. Beabsichtigte Kontaktanfragen und Kooperationsanfragen mit der Franka Emika GmbH bitte ich direkt an das Unternehmen zu richten.