Principal Investigators

Principal Investigators (PIs) at MSRM are professors from TUM and TUM Junior Fellows. MSRM is creating spaces for PIs and their teams to work together in Focus Groups, Research Labs and Lighthouse Initiatives in the field of robotics and machine intelligence. This page lists PIs according to their role within MSRM, namely Sector Leaders, Ambassadors as well as the lists of PIs affiliated with MSRM and PIs associated with MSRM.

Become an MSRM Principal Investigator!

Contact our Community officer.

Sector Leaders


Artificial Intelligence





Education Leaders


EU Politics and Network

Germany Politics and Network




Principal Investigators affiliated with MSRM

Prof. Dr. Nikolaus A. Adams Aerodynamics and Fluid Mechanics
Prof. Dr. Alin Albu-Schäffer Sensor Based Robotic Systems and Intelligent Assistance Systems
Prof. Dr. Matthias Althoff Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-time Systems
Prof. Klaus Bengler Ergonomics
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bock Building Realisation and Robotics
Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Bungartz Scientific Computing
Prof. Dr. Med. Rainer Burgkart Klinikum rechts der Isar TUM
Prof. Darius Burschka Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-time Systems
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Buss Automatic Control Engineering
Prof. Alena Buyx Micro Technology and Medical Device Technology
Prof. Dr. Marco Caccamo Cyber-Physical Systems in Production Engineering
Prof. Dr.rer.nat. habil. Dr.-Ing. Rainer Callies Numerical Mathematics
Prof. Dr. Jia Chen Environmental Sensing and Modeling
Prof. Gordon Cheng Cognitive Systems
Prof. Daniel Cremers Computer Vision & Artificial Intelligence
Prof. Dr. Eugénia da Conceição-Heldt European and Global Governance
Prof. Klaus Diepold Data Processing
Prof. Hendrik Dietz Biomolekulare Nanotechnologie
Prof. Dr. Rüdiger von Eisenhart-Rothe Orthopedics
Prof. Dr. Hubertus Feussner Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality
Prof. Dr. Massimo Fornasier Applied Numerical Analysis
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johannes Fottner Materials Handling, Material Flow, Logistics
Prof. David Franklin Neuromuscular Diagnostics
Prof. Dr. Helmut Friess Surgical Clinic and Policlinic
Prof. Dr. Julien Gagneur Computational Molecular Medicine
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael W. Gee Mechanics & High Performance Computing Group
PD Dr. med. Jens Gempt Klinikum rechts der Isar TUM
Prof. Michel Géradin Hans Fischer Senior Fellow
Prof. Dr. Stephan Günnemann Data Analytics and Machine Learning
Prof. Sami Haddadin Robotics and Systems Intelligence
Prof. Dr. Oliver Hayden Heinz Nixdorf Chair of Biomedical Electronics
Prof. Dr. sc. techn. Reinhard Heckel Machine Learning
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Heckl Scientific communication
Prof. Bernhard Hemmer Neurological Clinic and Policlinic
Prof. Werner Hemmert Bio-inspired Information Processing
Prof. Dr. Joachim Hermsdörfer Human movement science
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sandra Hirche Information-Oriented Control
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Florian Holzapfel Flight System Dynamics
Prof. Dr. Simon N. Jacob Translationale Neurotechnologie
Prof. Wolfgang Kellerer Communication Networks
Prof. Dr. med. Jan Stefan Kirschke Klinikum rechts der Isar TUM
Prof. Gudrun Klinker Augmented Reality
Prof. Alois Knoll Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-time Systems
Prof. Dr. Felix Krahmer Optimization and Data Analysis
Prof. Dr. Laura Leal-Taixé Dynamic Vision and Learning
Prof. Dongheui Lee Human-centered Assistive Robotics
Prof. Dr. Stefan Leutenegger Machine Learning for Robotics
Prof. Markus Lienkamp Automotive Technology
Prof. Tim Lüth Micro Technology and Medical Device Technology
Prof. Dr. Harald Luksch Zoology
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Jakob Macke Computational Neuroengineering
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Meyer Neurosurgical Clinic and Policlinic
Prof. Dr. Ruth Müller Science & Technology Policy
Ph.D. Karin Nachbagauer  Hans Fischer Fellow
Dr. Ali Nasseri Augenklinik am Klinikum rechts der Isar
Prof. Nassir Navab Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality
Prof. Dr. Matthias Nießner Visual Computing
Prof. Dr. Vasilis Ntziachristos Biological Imaging
Prof. Dr. Timo Oksanen Agrimechatronics
Prof. Dr. Cristina Piazza Healthcare and Rehabilitation Robotics
Prof. Dr. Alexander Pretschner Software and Systems Engineering
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Rigoll Human-Machine Communication
Prof. Daniel Rixen Applied Mechanics
Prof. Dr. Burkhard Rost Bioinformatics
Prof. Dr. Markus Ryll Autonomous Aerial Systems
Prof. Dr. Markus Schwaiger TUM School of Medicine
Prof. Dr. Ansgar Schwirtz Biomechanics in Sports
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernhard U. Seeber Audio Information Processing
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Veit Senner Sport Equipment and Sport Materials
Prof. Dr. Friedrich Simmel Physics of Synthetic Biological Systems
Prof. Dr. Karsten Stahl Machine Elements
Prof. Eckehard Steinbach  Media Technology
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Steinhorst Embedded Systems and Internet of Things
Ph.D. Leila Takayama  Hans Fischer Fellow
Prof. Dr. Fabian J. Theis Mathematical Modelling of Biological Systems
Prof. Dr. Michael Ulbrich Mathematical Optimization
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Utschick Signal Processing Methods
Prof. Birgit Vogel-Heuser Automatisierung und Informationssysteme
Prof. Wolfgang A. Wall Computational Mechanics
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Walter Astronautics
Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Westermann Computer Graphics and Visualization
Dr. Dirk Wilhelm Chirurgische Klinik und Poliklinik des Klinikums rechts der Isar
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Wolfrum Neuroelectronics
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Zäh Machine Tools and Manufacturing Technology
Prof. Dr. Majid Zamani Hybrid Control Systems
Prof. Dr. Markus Zimmermann Product Development and Lightweight Design