About us

Mission Statement MSRM

The Munich School of Robotics and Machine Intelligence (MSRM) at the Technical University of Munich is an integrative research center in the field of machine intelligence. Its purpose is to research the fundamentals of robotics, perception and artificial intelligence in order to develop innovative and sustainable technological solutions for central challenges of our time.

By creating a collaborative environment for the already existing world-class research and teaching at one of Europe’s leading universities, MSRM aims to become the crystallization point for this key technology far beyond the metropolitan Munich area. With the expertise of more than 30 professors from a wide range of disciplines and the tight collaboration with institutions in the areas of philosophy, ethics, and law, responsible technology development and subsequent integration into society are ensured.

MSRM forms the basis for sustainable science, education, technology development, and implementation through interdisciplinary basic research, applied research oriented toward societal needs and cutting-edge education. By means of flagship initiatives, the scientific and technical results will be translated into the real world within the context of globally relevant topics of our time, namely the future of health, work and mobility.

To meet the broad need for scientific and technical talent, MSRM will implement a three-part sustainable development plan. First, outstanding young researchers are enabled to engage in professional exchange at an international level. Second, they are empowered to carry out their own research agenda and achieve a visible effect in the field, both nationally and internationally. Finally, a coherent educational canon will bridge the gap between schools, universities and the needs of the relevant sectors.

In cooperation with leading scientific institutions and technology companies in the greater Munich area, the innovation hub for robotics and machine intelligence will be further developed and strengthened. A close connection of MSRM with industrial partners and founders of high-tech start-ups takes place within the Industrial Advisory Board, ensuring the long-term implementation of the developed know-how.

Location

In cooperation with scientific institutions and technology companies in the greater Munich area, the innovation hub for robotics and machine intelligence will be further developed and strengthened. A close connection of MSRM with industrial partners and founders of innovative high-tech start-ups within the framework of the Industrial Advisory Board ensures the long-term implementation of the developed know-how. The physical unification of competencies takes place under the umbrella of the MSRM research center. This signal of a new start and identity forming at TUM enables cutting edge interdisciplinary research of the more than 30 already established or newly appointed professors with efficiently shared state-of-the-art laboratory infrastructure.

Philosophy

In organizational terms, MSRM consists of two closely interacting, however, independent pillars. Both centers have their own advisory board (Scientific Advisory Board and Industrial Advisory Board), which is made up of leading scientific and industrial experts and founders. The bridge between both areas is especially built up via the flagship initiatives.

Research Center

The research center covers the scientific topics and fields of application. The scientific pillars of the research center form the basis for interdisciplinary exchange between the faculties involved in the MSRM. In addition to classical robotics and machine intelligence-related disciplines such as electrical engineering and information technology, mechanical engineering or computer science, these also include future highly relevant areas such as physics and chemistry, architecture / industrial design, or life sciences and health. The application domain oriented research is anchored in the MSRM via 12 application domains.

Specifically, the MSRM forms the discipline of machine intelligence along its relevant dimensions. From the nano to the meso to the macro scale, concepts of networking, interaction, learning ability and autonomy as well as system design and sensor technology are researched from basic research to real-world use. Societal as well as industrially or medically highly relevant application domains are being transformed into scientific and technological progress through the synergistic use of MSRM competencies. For example, adaptive and networked robot assistants for the future industry, autonomously flying and driving robot swarms as part of future mobility as well as medical nanobots and intelligent laboratories for their production are being developed. The MSRM thus achieves socially exploitable research results, which are expanded into so-called flagship initiatives for successful application fields.

Center of Competence

The center of competence feeds back identified research needs from real-world applications with societal relevance into the research center. The already introduced flagship initiatives represent the most specific form of exchange of new technologies with companies and users, and they form the common and jointly researched bridge between research center and the center of competence.

Flagship Initiatives

With the goal of testing and validating new technologies in real-world use, the research results do bring an application domain into immediate use via the flagship initiatives. These initiatives are within the focus of MSRM right from the beginning. The first three flagship initiatives are the future of health, the future of work and the future of mobility.

About us

Mission Statement MSRM

Die Munich School of Robotics and Machine Intelligence (MSRM) an der Technischen Universität München ist ein integratives Forschungszentrum im Bereich der maschinellen Intelligenz. Ziel dieses Zentrums ist es, die Grundlagen der Robotik, der Perzeption und der künstlichen Intelligenz zu erforschen, um innovative und nachhaltige technologische Lösungen für zentrale Herausforderungen unserer Zeit zu entwickeln.

Durch den Aufbau einer kollaborativen Umgebung für die bereits bestehende Spitzenforschung und -lehre an einer der führenden europäischen Universitäten, zielt die MSRM darauf ab, weit über den Großraum München hinaus, ein Kristallisationspunkt für diese Schlüsseltechnologie zu werden. Mit der Expertise von mehr als 30 Professoren aus einem breiten Spektrum an Disziplinen und die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Institutionen in den Bereichen Philosophie, Ethik und Recht, wird eine verantwortungsvolle Technologieentwicklung und anschließende Integration in die Gesellschaft sichergestellt.

Die MSRM bildet die Grundlage für eine nachhaltige Wissenschaft, Bildung sowie Technologieentwicklung und Umsetzung durch interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung, eine angewandte, auf gesellschaftliche Bedürfnisse ausgerichtete Forschung sowie hochaktuelle bzw. moderne Lehrkonzepte. Durch Leuchtturminitiativen werden die wissenschaftlichen und technischen Ergebnisse im Kontext global relevanter Themen unserer Zeit, wie der Zukunft der Gesundheit, Arbeit und Mobilität, in die realte Welt überführt.

Um den breiten Bedarf an wissenschaftlichen und technischen Talenten gerecht zu werden, wird die MSRM einen nachhaltigen dreiteiligen Entwicklungsplan umsetzen. Erstens werden herausragende Nachwuchswissenschaftler ein professioneller Austausch auf internationaler Ebene ermöglicht. Zweitens  werden sie befähigt ihre eigene Forschungsagenda umzusetzen und einen sichtbaren Effekt in ihrem jeweiligen Gebiet, sowohl auf nationaler als auch internationaler Ebene, zu erzielen. Schließlich wird ein kohärenter Bildungskanon die Lücke zwischen Schulen, Universitäten und den Bedürfnissen der relevanten Sektoren schließen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit führenden wissenschaftlichen Institutionen und Technologieunternehmen im Großraum München, wird der Innovations-Hub für Robotik und maschinelle Intelligenz weiterentwickelt und gestärkt. Eine enge Verbindung der MSRM mit Industriepartnern und Gründern von High-Tech-Startups wird im Rahmen des Industriebeirats (industrial advisory board) etabliert, um die langfristige Umsetzung des entwickelten Know-hows zu gewährleisten.

Location

Im Verbund mit wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen und Technologiefirmen im Großraum München wird der Innovationsstandort für das Thema weiter entwickelt und gestärkt. Eine enge Verbindung der MSRM mit industriellen Partnern und Gründern innovativer High-Tech Start-Ups beispielsweise im Rahmen des Industriebeirats sichert die Umsetzung des entwickelten Know-hows langfristig. Die physische Zusammenführung der Kompetenzen erfolgt unter einem Dach im Forschungszentrum. Dieses Signal der Neuaufstellung und Identitätsbildung an der TUM ermöglicht interdisziplinäre Spitzenforschung mit gemeinsam und effizient nutzbarer Laborinfrastruktur.

Philosophie

Organisatorisch besteht die MSRM aus zwei eng miteinander interagierenden jedoch auch für sich jeweils eigenständigen Bereichen. Einem Forschungszentrum und einem Kompetenzzentrum. Beide Zentren sind mit einem eigenen Beirat (Scientific Advisory Board und Industrial Advisory Board) ausgestattet, die mit führenden wissenschaftlichen wie auch industriellen Experten und Gründern besetzt sind. Die Brücke zwischen beiden Bereichen bilden insbesondere die Leuchtturminitiativen.

Forschungszentrum

Das Forschungszentrum umfasst die wissenschaftlichen Themen- und Anwendungsfelder, die sich in die drei Wissenschaftsbereiche Robotik, Künstliche Intelligenz und Perzeption gliedern. Die Wissenschaftssäulen (Scientific Pillars) des Forschungszentrums stellen dabei das Fundament des interdisziplinären Austausches zwischen den sich in der MSRM engagierenden Fakultäten dar. Diese Säulen beinhalten neben den klassischen Machine Intelligence-affinen Disziplinen wie Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik, Maschinenwesen oder Informatik auch die zukünftig hochrelevanten Gebiete wie Physik und Chemie, Architektur / Industriedesign, oder Life Sciences und Gesundheit. Gleichberechtigt neben der Grundlagenforschung, ist die angewandte Forschung angesiedelt, die über den aufgezeigten 12 Anwendungsfeldern (Application Domains) in der MSRM verankert ist.

Hierbei formiert die MSRM die Disziplin der Maschinenintelligenz entlang ihrer relevanten Dimensionen. Von der Nano- über die Meso- bis hin zur Makroskala werden Konzepte der Vernetzung, Interaktion, Lernfähigkeit und Autonomie sowie der Konstruktion und Sensorik von der Grundlage bis in die Anwendung beforscht. Gesellschaftlich wie auch industriell oder medizinisch hochrelevante Anwendungsfelder werden durch zielgerichtete Bündelung der MSRM-Kompetenzen in wissenschaftlichen sowie technologischen Fortschritt transformiert. Beispielsweise werden lernfähige und vernetzte Roboterassistenten für die Industrie der Zukunft, autonom fliegende und fahrende Roboterschwärme für die Mobilität der Zukunft und medizinische Nanoroboter sowie intelligenter Labore zu ihrer Produktion entwickelt. In der MSRM werden also gesellschaftlich verwertbare Forschungsergebnisse erzielt, die für erfolgreiche Anwendungsfelder zu sogenannten Leuchtturminitiativen ausgebaut werden.

Kompetenzzentrum

Das Kompetenzzentrum koppelt reale Forschungsbedarfe mit entsprechender gesellschaftlicher Relevanz in das Forschungszentrum zurück. Die konkreteste Form des Austauschs neu erforschter Technologien mit Firmen und Anwendern stellen die bereits genannten Leuchtturminitiativen dar, welche die gemeinsame und gemeinschaftlich beforschte Brücke zwischen Forschungs- und Anwendungszentrum bilden.

Leuchtturminitiativen

Mit Ihrem Ziel der Erprobung und Validierung neuer Technologien im Realeinsatz bringen die Leuchtturminitiativen die Forschungsergebnisse einer Anwendungsdomäne unmittelbar in Benutzung. Sie stehen von Beginn an im Fokus der MSRM. Die ersten drei Leuchtturminitiativen fokusieren sich auf die Zukunft der Gesundheit, die Zukunft der Arbeit und die Zukunft der Mobilität.